What is it with some of the conspiracies people come up with? Recently, the news has been talking about some reports on the accident that killed Princess Diana, and some of the consipiracies that surrounded her death. Someone actually felt the need to do DNA tests to prove that the blood which tested positive for alcohol was actually from the driver. They look at the brief, grainy, pixelated picture of their driver in security videos, and think that they can tell without a doubt that he's sober. The supposed conspiracy theory is that the driver was perfectly sober, and that someone intentionally caused them to crash. Some people think Dodi Al-Fayad was the target, while some think that Diana was the target. As to who are the secret organizations that killed them and why is too numerous to mention.
It's like some people see too many movies and TV shows, get too involved with them, and begin to see conspiracy in everything. Sure, there are some people in the world who would have no problem doing evil to someone else. Most are rather blunt (i.e. Gang drive-bys), and only a few have the ability to be subtle and discreet. And even those who are discreet have a hard time getting authorities to think a murder was an accident, especially in such a high-profile case, especially with forensics available to us nowadays. That doesn't meant that someone won't slip one passed us, but those are the exceptions to the rule. Things don't just easily fall into place like they do in the movies, this is real life. And that's why alot of criminals get caught.
Look at it this way. All Diana conspiracies that are even slightly based in reality say that some professional group intentionally crashed the car to kill one or more of the occupants. For this to work, it would have to have a very good chance of being successful in killing the target (nothing's ironclad, but you have to have very good odds). Causing a new Mercedes to crash in the city does NOT have a good chance of killing the occupants, needless to say a very very good chance. It happens from time to time, unfortunately, but it's quite rare. Even if you are sure that you can get the driver of this car to go 60-80 MPH in town by simply chasing him with motorcycles, you can't be sure that Diana won't be wearing her seatbelt. It's very difficult to force a big sedan to crash with motorcycles (especially doing it accurately enough so that they hit the pillar just right the first try), but even if you could, you can't be reasonably sure that you won't leave a witness behind who could point out that the car was forced off of the road. Which brings us to the fact that this will have to look like an ironclad accident, because there are numerous conspiracy theorists out there who will look very closely at something like this. Any single failure in this plan, and not only do you fail, but your conspiracy runs the very real risk of being. People who are accomplished in such black operations do not take gambles on iffy plans like that. That's like an accountant who invests your retirement funds in lottery tickets.
Diana's death was an unfortunate culmination of mistakes, errors, and policies that needed improving. The driver shouldn't have been drunk. She should have been wearing a seatbelt. And they should have gotten her to a hospital instead of trying to determine how to care for her in the field.
And to those who feel that others planned to kill Diana: Why wouldn't they have done that when she was in a third world countries with her charities, where there is an abundance of violence to mask you, a relative lack of medical assistance, and an easy escape? She was touring old minefields, what other opportunity would you need?
---jps
Sunday, December 17, 2006
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment